Dallas Chamber Symphony presents Shostakovich Piano Concerto No. 1 with Alex McDonald

Kazuhiro Takagi returns for his second year as concertmaster of the Dallas Chamber Symphony as it opens its season with captivating performances of two compositional retrospectives, both with 20th century flair.

Peter Warlock’s Capriol Suite features gorgeous renaissance melodies with Celtic influence, and Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1 presents two fantastic soloists. Pianist Alex McDonald performs with Oscar Garcia Montoya on trumpet, as they deliver a captivating rendition of the composer’s neo-baroque masterpiece. The evening concludes with Dvorak’s romantic and familiar Serenade for Strings.

Event Details


9.16.14 | 8:00 pm


Moody Performance Hall
2520 Flora St.
Dallas, TX 75201

Ticket Info