Nasher Sculpture Center presents Soundings: Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin

Alexi Kenney
Alexi Kenney Photo by Yang Bao

Completed in 1720, Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas, remained unpublished until 1802. The central place these works now hold in the violin repertoire is illuminated by a program that pays tribute to Bach’s deep influence on composers of today. Each of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas are represented interspersed with works for solo violin by Steve Reich (b. 1936), Kija Saariaho (b. 1952), Esa-Pekka Salonen (b. 1958), and Iannis Xenakis (1922-2001), in performances by violinist Alexi Kenney (b. 1994), recipient of the 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant.

Event Details


5.3.18 | 7:30 pm


Nasher Sculpture Center
2001 Flora St.
Dallas, TX 75201