Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture presents MLK Symposium

Many events have been canceled or postponed due to coronavirus concerns. Please check with the organization before going to any event.
Bishop William J. Barber II
Bishop William J. Barber II Photo courtesy of The Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture

Pastor and Civil Rights Activist Bishop William J. Barber II will be the keynote speaker at the Dallas Institute of Humanities and Culture’s Forward Together: 13th Annual MLK Symposium

Forward Together: A Moral Message for the Nation is the title of Barber’s 2014 book in which he relates the story of a justice movement born in North Carolina and spreading throughout the nation. Barber’s tenacious work of public activism for the cause of racial justice places him squarely in the tradition of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. in the 1950’s and 1960’s and speaks powerfully of what remains to be accomplished in the arena of Civil Rights in America. He is also the author of The Third Reconstruction (2016).

Barber will be joined at the symposium by a panel of local city leaders including Rev. Dr. Michael W. Waters, Rev. Larry M. James, and Rev. Dr. Sheron C. Patterson in a conversation moderated by Dallas Institute Executive Director Dr. J. Larry Allums.

Event Details

When

Where

Moody Performance Hall
2520 Flora St.
Dallas, TX 75201

PHONE

Ticket Info

$20; $10 for educators; Free for students.