Plano Civic Chorus presents Luminescence

All events are subject to change due to weather or other concerns. Please check with the venue or organization to ensure an event is taking place as scheduled.
Plano Civic Chorus
Photo courtesy of Plano Civic Chorus

Plano Civic Chorus concludes its 2020-2021 season with Luminescence, a light-filled concert featuring the Plano Chamber Chorus and string quartet.

The program will feature two seldom-heard works for double chorus by Mendelssohn and two works for women's chorus by Brahms. The men of the chorus will be featured in Schubert's Die Nacht. The concert will also a feature two modern-day works by Norwegian composer, Ola Gjeilo: Dark Night of the Soul and Luminous Night of the Soul, both composed for eight-part chorus, string quartet, and piano.

The centerpiece of the concert is The Hope of Loving, a recent work by Minneapolis composer, Jake Runestad. Composed for chorus, soloists, and string quartet, The Hope of Loving examines our understanding of love with prose from poets Rabia, Hafiz, St. Francis, St. John of the Cross, and Eckhart.

The concert will conclude with a few popular works: I Am Not Yours by Z. Randall Stroope, Lullabye by Billy Joel, and Try to Remember from The Fantasticks by Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt.

The concert will be available for both a limited in-person audience and also via livestream to people in the comfort of their homes. 

Event Details



This is a virtual event.

Christ United Methodist Church
3101 Coit Rd.
Plano, TX 75075

Ticket Info