Positive Media Messaging

Happily Divorced duo Fran Drescher and Peter Marc Jacobson to receive Black Tie Dinner honors

Happily Divorced duo to receive Black Tie Dinner honors

Fran Drescher, Peter Marc Jacobson, Black Tie Dinner
Fran Drescher and Peter Marc Jacobson will be honored at this year's Black Tie Dinner.  Photo courtesy of Black Tie Dinner

Fran Drescher and Peter Marc Jacobson, the onetime husband-and-wife team behind the successful TV series The Nanny and Happily Divorced, will be honored with the Media Award during the 32nd annual Black Tie Dinner. They will receive this award in recognition of positive, increased awareness of LGBT issues in the media.

Fran Drescher received two Emmy and two Golden Globe nominations for her portrayal as the lovable Miss Fine on the CBS hit series The Nanny. But she is also an accomplished author; 12-year uterine cancer survivor; and the founder and president of the Cancer Schmancer Movement, a nonprofit organization that aims to shift America’s focus toward prevention and early detection.

Peter Marc Jacobson started his career in front of the camera, guest starring in such memorable series as Murphy Brown, Beverly Hills 90210, The Facts of Life, Dynasty, Too Close for Comfort, Matlock and others. After a six-year run as executive producer and co-creator of The Nanny, Jacobson and Drescher created another series, Happily Divorced, based loosely on the story of their life together as husband and wife after Jacobson told her he was gay.

This year’s Black Tie Media Award is “a testament to the importance of valuing and celebrating what each of us — whether gay or straight — brings to the table and speaking with One Voice for equality,” said Black Tie Dinner co-chair Mitzi Lemons in a statement. “Though differences surfaced in this couple’s relationship, the bottom line is, they never stopped supporting one another.”

Black Tie Dinner is a nonprofit organization that raises funds for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender supportive organizations serving North Texas through a premier event of empowerment, education and entertainment in partnership with the community.

The event has been headlined by local and national celebrities and leaders such as Marlee Matlin, Maya Angelou, Geena Davis, Lily Tomlin, Martin Sheen, Gavin Newsom and U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin. Previous Media Award winners include Cyndi Lauper, Chely Wright and Jesse Tyler Ferguson.

This year’s dinner is Saturday, November 2, at the Sheraton Hotel Dallas.