Election News

Dallas elections send Scott Griggs and Eric Johnson to mayoral runoff

Dallas elections send Scott Griggs and Eric Johnson to mayoral runoff

Scott Griggs
Dallas City Council member Scott Griggs will get another chance at being elected mayor in a runoff on June 8. Courtesy photo

An election to determine the new mayor of Dallas ended in a runoff that will require another election on June 8.

In an election on May 4, the two candidates who earned the most votes from a crowded field were City Council member Scott Griggs and Texas State Representative Eric Johnson. Johnson received 20.3 percent of the vote, while Griggs got 18.5 percent.

Griggs has served on the Dallas City Council since 2011. Johnson was first elected to the state House of Representatives in 2010 during a special election.

In addition to the mayoral seat, four city council races are also headed to a runoff:

  • District 4 in far southeast Dallas, between incumbent Carolyn King Arnold and Dawn Blair
  • District 7 in south Dallas/Fair Park, between Adam Bazaldua and Tiffinni Young, who held the seat for one term in 2015
  • District 9 in east Dallas, between Erin Moore and Paula Blackmon
  • District 14 in downtown/East Dallas, between incumbent Phillip Kingston and Davit Blewett

Newcomers to the Dallas City Council include Chad West, who will take the seat in District 1 being vacated by Scott Griggs; Jaime Resendez, who beat former Park & Recreation Board member Yolanda Faye Williams to take the District 5 seat being vacated by outgoing Ricky Callahan; and Cara Mendelsohn, who won the seat in District 12 formerly occupied by Sandy Greyson.

Incumbents who kept their seats include Adam Medrano in District 2, representing Deep Ellum; Casey Thomas in District 3, southwest Dallas; Omar Narvaez in District 6, West Dallas; Tennell Atkins in District 8, far south Dallas; Adam McGough in District 10, northeast Dallas; Lee Kleinman in District 11, north Dallas; and Jennifer Staubach Gates in District 13.

Gates won in a high-profile race, beating former mayor Laura Miller with 65 percent of the 13,000 voters.

In District 7, incumbent Kevin Felder was voted out of office, earning less than 15 percent.

Voter turnout was 4.4 percent across Dallas County. District 13 between Gates and Miller was the most active at the polls. Most council races drew between 5,000 and 9,000 voters, though some races attracted just 2,000 people.

The last day to register to vote in the runoff election is May 8. Early voting will be May 28 through June 4, and Election Day is June 8.

Voter percentages for mayor were as follows:
Lynn McBee 14.03%
Jason Villalba 6.75%
Scott Griggs 18.48%
Mike Ablon 13.47%
Miguel Solis 10.72%
Alyson Kennedy 0.58%
Regina Montoya 10.45%
Eric Johnson 20.31%
Albert Black 5.22%